Twitter – An Experience to Cherish!

Ok first and foremost before I even say “Hi” or “Hello” to you guys go and hit the follow button on this link –> Spamsterr

That’s Me, on Twitter. 😛

Back in 2008 was the time when I created a Twitter Account. I am a person who loves playing with Technology, trying out new web-sites, especially Social Networking ones. And back then I was like that too. Probably more than what I am now.

My friend Rishi, is one of those too. We loved discussing about Technology and sometimes used to go on and on for hours discussing about the same. Back then, he was new to Twitter and loved it too. He always wanted me to join it, but somehow I was reluctant and had the same old argument that most people say BEFORE joining Twitter, “140 characters of text and nothing else, what do I do of it?”. He tried to explain me, how it could help with with sharing information, getting precise and quick information, and I was convinced a bit, but my next argument was “I have other places too for the same and in a much better way with Images/Video”. Amid-st this discussion, we both also had plans to start Blogging. That is when he said, if you want people to read your blog, this is the place to advertise, at-least one of them. I created my First Blog, “Pool Of Sites”. It was a Website Review Blog, And I started off with a couple of pathetic posts. All I did was started to follow some bloggers on Twitter randomly, Post my Blog links sometimes and I had some decent replies from good bloggers, encouraging me to continue blogging with some valuable suggestions. That is when I started to view other Blogs, learnt from them, started to use tools like Window Live Writer and changed quite a lot. Within a year, I had over 100 subsscribers, which is pretty decent for a first Time Blogger. Though most of my subscribers may have turned up from some other sources other than Twitter, I still owe a lot to Twitter, as without that I would have never known those “Other” sources, I would have never have been able to successfully Blog for so long. Suddenly, with loads of College studies pressure, personal issues too, I decreased the frequency of posts and eventually stopped. That was Mid-2009 I guess, when I stopped it, and hence as I never really used Twitter for anything else apart from Advertising and occasionally to get some Tech related info, I stopped using Twitter too.

This whole of Part I of Post just signifies how useful is Twitter for advertising anything the Masses, To help you develop your Product in a better way, learn new things.

Now, lets just skip one year, as that time I really never even visited Twitter I guess, lost almost all followers. I was back to ground zero by mid of 2010. This time my purpose for (re)-joining twitter was different. I had finished off with my studies, college and had nothing to do at-least for the moment. That was also the time when I had my worst ever set back related to personal life till date. It was an important time for me and my career, as I had to chose a proper path, and that would define my career for the rest of my life. And for that I needed a peaceful mind, which wasn’t. I as it hardly had a social life back then, and realized that is what I need now. Need to come out of this sadness, think about myself, love myself and come up with a proper plan to do it all right at once, Personal Life & Career. I thought of starting a Blog, again, but never could come up with what should I Blog about. Didn’t want to restart my earlier Blog either as it didn’t interest me enough. So, I thought lets join Twitter, again this time just to use as a tool to divert my mind. I used to like reading quotes by famous people always so did follow some handles that would do the same, and as I joined Twitter, those were the quotes that I was actually looking for. It certainly helped me to start thinking about Life from a different perspective. About my past as well as my future. Within a month or so, I decided, I that Software Testing is a good line for me, and whether it’s the best one or not is what I will never know until I really get into it. Started training, and soon after that got into a good job too. Until then, while I was training and shaping up my career, I tried to talk to people about my interests, be it music, movies, technology… Wrote down things in my heart, things related to personal life too, read through numerous quotes. As a beginner, I faced the same issue that most of the guys face, I knew no one on Twitter, and randomly most people didn’t reply back, as those most people were self proclaimed celebrities of Twitter with thousands of followers and some celebrities. But I surely came across some amazing people, which gave me an inspiration to be similar to them, came across people who had similar problems like I had, people having different, worse problems, and people looking out for jobs just like me. 😉

I don’t know how to put it in words, but all of it played a very important role in me getting back on track. Not that it solved my problems and I am all problem free today, but I have learnt to live with them, Basically learnt to actually practically implement “The Show Must Go On”. No matter what, do whatever it takes to get the show back on track, movies, music, and best of all use humor to the best possible way. With time, today I have come across numerous people on Twitter and some of them have made a place in my heart. They have been the one’s I would have loved to know in real life, loved to have known them, meet them. Me being an introvert for a long time, started to express myself, made friends, not just on Twitter, elsewhere too.

The part II of this post signifies the use of Twitter to extend your social life, to know who ‘you’ really are. To know different types of people, good & bad from all around the world. Witness certain experiences and the do’s and dont’s when who witness a similar experience may be later, learn from them and obviously share information.

These 140 characters have changed my Life, not just once.. but twice and both the times for the good.

Tagged: ,

9 thoughts on “Twitter – An Experience to Cherish!

  1. aspirantentrepreneur August 1, 2011 at 7:53 PM Reply

    Twitter is definitely a very powerful platform to express views or discuss issues. Best of luck with your journey further more with twitter. It was a decent post. 🙂

  2. Nikhil Wad August 1, 2011 at 10:17 PM Reply

    Good one. Indeed 140 characters make a difference & changes the way we look at it around.

  3. Niru August 1, 2011 at 10:21 PM Reply

    Ahaan Promoting twitter via blog 😛 nicely done 😉

    • Mohit Shroff August 1, 2011 at 11:04 PM Reply

      Hehe.. But it really is a great place. Thanks! 🙂

  4. hotshot bald cop August 30, 2011 at 1:42 PM Reply

    I agree 100%

  5. Vishwa August 31, 2011 at 10:10 AM Reply

    Very Nice!! If you are new to twitter, Now You are in the right place.

    • Mohit August 31, 2011 at 5:39 PM Reply

      Absolutely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

